Young Architects International Award – Temporary sheltering spaces, Antalya, Turkey – 24-26/5/2013


* Nikos Fintikakis UIA ARES WP Director participates as Jury member 


The Chamber of Architects of Turkey, in collaboration with its regional Antalya Branch, has launched the fifth edition of the international award for young architects. This award recognises the winning projects in an international ideas competition focusing on temporary sheltering spaces. The need for temporary shelters for victims of natural and man-made disasters and those disadvantaged personsleft on the edge of society is greater and greater. The role and the response of architects worldwide in this context with which they are not necessarily familiar is the aim of this competition that will be followed by an open debate to be held during the next Young Architects meeting in Antalya, on 25 May 2013. This award is organised with the support of the International Union of Architects.



Participation in the competition is open to architects worldwide, born after 1974, registered in an organisation of architects in their country. Registration for the competition takes place at the same time as the submission of entries. Participation is free of charge. The working languages are Turkish and English.



The international jury is composed of the following architects: Bünyamin DERMAN, Turkey; Nikos FINTIKAKIS, Greece, UIA Council member; N.Kerem PIKER, Turkey;Antonio RIVERSO, Italy, Vice-President UIA Region I,Şerban TIGANAS, Romania, President of the Order of Architects of Romania. Jon Ander AZPIAZU JUARISTI, Spain, and Numan Atakan PALAŞOĞLU, Turkey, alternate jury members.



A total amount of 6.500 euros will be awarded. 1st prize 2.500 euros; 2nd prize 1.500 euros; 3rd prize 1.000 euros. Prize awarded by participants at the international meeting of young architects,1.500 euros.



  • Deadline for submitting questions: 17 December 2012
  • Deadline for registration and submission of projects: 15 March 2013
  • Jury meeting: 5 April 2013
  • Exhibition of projects and awards ceremony: 25 May 2013